Site not yet viewable on mobile, view on desktop instead.

Orkney Japan Association

About us

Council members

Chair – Liam McArthur MSP

Secretary – Ruta Noreika

Treasurer – Jane Nelson

Megumi Barrington Uenoyama

Fiona Lawtie

Leslie Manson

Cormac Grogan

Steve Arnold

Jeremy Nelson

Honorary Patrons

Mr Tadashi Fujiwara, Consul General of Japan in Edinburgh

Harvey Johnston

Honorary Patrons Mr Fujiwara and Harvey Johnston


  • to promote and strengthen links between Orkney and Japan
  • to engage in and promote Japanese educational, cultural and sporting activities and exchanges that benefit the Orkney community, especially its young people
  • to act as a clearinghouse and resource for information about Japan for the Orkney community and to support members who wish to learn about Japan, travel there, or engage in professional activities involving Japan